Penny Black First Issues Collectors Club of stamps and philatelic material

Home - Catalog - Categories - Index - Journal - Exhibits - Auctions - Forgeries - Join

first issues > countries > bophuthatswana


6th December 1977

Africa 46

  #1 xxx

perf 12½, no wmk, litho
Printed by the South African Government Printer, Pretoria.

Description   Scott SG Mi Y&T  
4 cents multi (dove)   1 1      
10c multi (leopard)   2 2      
15c multi (coat of arms)   3 3      
20c multi (flag)   4 4      

Formerly part of South Africa, the territory now known as Bophuthatswana was granted internal self-government under the Bantu Homelands Constitution Act and became fully independent on 6th December 1977. The homelands were reincorporated into South Africa on 27 April 1994, after the first post-apartheid elections.